30 Days, 30 Movies {Day 18} Holiday Movie – Young Frankenstein

Yes, I love Christmas. I have been known to celebrate it in July. But I don’t want to be predictable. I want to keep you guessing and keep things interesting, so instead of talking about my favorite holiday, we’ll be sharing a Halloween movie.

Although I didn’t see this movie as a child, I do remember my Mother quoting Young Frankenstein, “It’s Frunkensteen!” followed by hysterical laughter. I enjoy the premise of this movie: Frankenstein’s grandson inherits his grandfather’s castle and tests his grandfather’s experiment. If you’ve never seen black and white films from the 1940’s, then you’ll miss the humor of the production. This is a satirical film poking fun at the early horror movies. Transitions from that time,which were no longer being used when Young Frankenstein was filmed, were added for comedic effect. The set used to bring the monster to life is the same set used in the original Frankenstein movie.

Leave a Reply

