30 Days, 30 Movies {Day 12} Pre War (WWII): Made for Each Other

The first time I saw this movie, I hated it. Hated it. I hated the mother-in-law. I hated that the wife was trying so hard to get along with her and she just would not change. I hated that the husband tried so hard at work and never got anywhere. I hated it.

This time, it was comforting and encouraging. It was like watching a version of my own life.

John Mason is a lawyer who met Jane in Boston while he was getting a deposition for a case. They married after knowing each other only a day. They are prevented from going on their honey moon because of a case. His mother lives with them and she does not approve of Jane. She makes snide comments constantly about her ability to keep house.  The economy was bad, so John has to take a pay cut. They can’t pay their bills and Jane can’t find a job to supplement their income. John is so discouraged after attending his college reunion, he thinks their marriage may have been a mistake. The baby gets sick and needs a life serum(no I don’t know what that means).

I felt like the whole “life serum” sequence was superfluous and it felt like it was added to make the movie longer. The sequence didn’t advance the story. It just added more characters that we only get to know for a scene. I told Hunny that someone had to have added this on from the studio. When I was researching this movie, I found out that the movie’s producer David O. Selznick went through a similar experience when his brother needed a life saving serum that was airlifted to the hospital. How is that for instincts?

Leave a Reply

