30 Days, 30 Movies {Day 7} Original vs. Sequel – 3 Men and a Baby vs. 3 Men and a Little Lady

I had never seen Three Men and a Baby and I knew it was a movie I had to see, since I’m married to Tom Selleck’s number one fan.

The thing I love about Three Men and a Baby is Peter and Michael’s relationship to the baby. Not knowing which formula to use, not knowing how to soothe a baby to sleep, and falling in love with the baby despite the sleepless nights all rings true. When Peter and Michael go on dates with their lady friends, all they can do is think about the baby.

The other thing this movie has going for it is danger. When the drug dealer’s enforcers tear up the apartment and the neighbor is tied up, I was terrified that something happened to the baby. I was sitting on the edge of my couch asking Hunny over and over, “Do you think the baby’s ok? You don’t think the baby’s hurt, do you?” I don’t know who was more relieved that the baby was unharmed, me or Peter. Maybe it was Hunny because I stopped asking him about the baby.

I loved this movie so much, I was excited to see the sequel!

Until I saw the sequel.

This sequel failed in every way a sequel could. Other than the original characters, there is no trace of what I loved about the original. There is no danger. There is no bonding. There is no reason to believe Peter and Sylvia love each other. I didn’t even care what happened. I just wanted the movie to end.

When it did end, my Hunny said these horrible, haunting words, “They could make another one of these.”

NO! NEVER! DO NOT DO IT!!!

Although, Tom Selleck has been reported as saying he would do another one, I hope for all our sakes that it doesn’t happen.

Leave a Reply

