30 Days, 30 Movies {Day 1} Memorable Soundtrack – Saturday Night Fever

I’m starting this series off with a BANG. And by BANG, I mean Hunny and I had a fight over this movie. He yelled at me. I cried. It was awful.

Five minutes into Saturday Night Fever, John Travolta is in his underwear (yikes!). In the next five minutes, he goes to a strip club and the Lord’s name was taken in vain twice. Then I turned the movie off, all of which happened before the fight.

This movie was based on an article written in New York magazine by Nik Cohn, who in later years would confess that he made up the story about teens living hard and fast at the discotheque. The film was released in 1977 with an R rating. The film was cut in 1978 to have a PG rating. The film needed a PG rating in order for the teenagers who were buying the soundtrack to be able to view the movie. I watched the version that obviously was not PG.

The whole reason I wanted to see the movie was because I wanted to see the music in action. My brother is a fan of The Bee Gees and I am not a  stranger to this soundtrack. This soundtrack was the number one album for six years. It was the top selling album in history until its record was broken by Michael Jackson’s Thriller. Michael Jackson listened to the Saturday Night Fever soundtrack five times a day for two years before he started working on Thriller. Smart move.

Maybe one day I’ll be able to watch the PG version of Saturday Night Fever, but that day is not today. Here is sampling of the music for you. It does not include one of my favorite songs If I Can’t Have You, but the iconic song Staying Alive is at 16:40.

 

If you haven’t voted for what we’ll see the 30th, do it now!

If you’re worried about me and Hunny, don’t. He apologized and I forgave him.

Leave a Reply

