Old Movie (Old is a Relative Term)

I was talking with a few ladies and one of them referenced the movie RV. I mentioned that I hadn’t seen RV, to which she replied, “Oh, it’s an old movie.”

RV was made in 2006. It’s not even ten years old yet. The lady who referred to it as an “old” movie is twenty years older than I.

Hunny and I were talking to someone who said he was a movie buff. Hunny mentioned that we love film. He said, “I even love old movies from the 80’s and 90’s.”

When I refer to old movies, I’m talking about black and white movies from the 1930’s and 1940’s. But I guess I have a different view of film than other people. My mother is a huge Disney fan. Her family life wasn’t all that great growing up, but she said she loved seeing Walt Disney on Sundays on television. Because of the joy they brought, she raised her children on Disney films from her childhood. I watched movies from the 1960’s growing up. Movies from that time period aren’t old to me. According to my mother, the first two films our family owned were Cinderella (1950) and Pinocchio (1940).

In all seriousness, my definition of an old movie is way off base. Silent films are much older than the 1930’s and 40’s. Film began in the late 1800’s, so those films should be the “old” ones.

Do you think RV is an “old” movie or is Back to the Future an “old” movie? What is your definition of an “old” movie?

A Silent Film from 1927

One thought on “Old Movie (Old is a Relative Term)

Leave a Reply

