Thirsty Thursday: We’re Thomas

What happened after Jesus rose from the grave?

He appeared to different sets of people to let them know He was alive. He appeared to His original eleven disciples, but Thomas wasn’t there. When they told Thomas that they had seen Jesus, he didn’t believe them.

But he said to them, “Unless I see in His hands the mark of the nails, and place my finger into the mark of His nails, and place my hand into His side, I will never believe.” John 20:25b

Thomas gets a bad rap for this: “Doubting Thomas.” But in reality, Thomas loved Jesus and did not want to believe something about Him that wasn’t true. Everyone was talking about seeing Jesus, but he hadn’t seen Him. What if everyone were lying? What if they were hallucinating? What if they wanted to see Jesus so badly that they believed it happened even though it really hadn’t? Thomas needed more than his friend’s word.

Eight days later, all the guys were together in a locked room. Jesus showed up.

Then He said to Thomas, “Put your finger here, and see my hands; and put out your hand, and place it in my side. Do not disbelieve, but believe.” John  20:27

When Jesus saw Thomas, He didn’t condemn him or judge him. He knew Thomas needed proof and He gave Thomas what he needed.

Do you think God doesn’t know your thoughts? He knows every one of them. He knows you are wondering if He’s really there. He knows that you think He doesn’t see you suffering. He knows what you need. He wants to show His love for you. He will show His provision in your life, and He will prove that He is real in a way that is meaningful to you.

You will seek Me and find Me, when you seek Me with all your heart. Jeremiah 29:13

3 thoughts on “Thirsty Thursday: We’re Thomas

  1. Thank you so much for your post. I just started my journey through the bible, and have experienced something unlike anything I’ve ever imagined when I realized that every single thought in my head is known and understood by God. When I “become Thomas,” He brings me right back.

    Wishing you an amazing rest of your day!

    Edwin
    awkwardlist

Leave a Reply

