Thirsty Thursday: Mad Skillz

Have you ever thought about the natural talents you possess? What are they? Why do you have them? How are you using them?

When God told Moses to have the people build a tabernacle, He called specific people to come:

And Moses called Bezalel and Oholiab and every craftsman in whose mind the LORD had put skill, everyone whose heart stirred him up to come to do the work. Exodus 36:2

“Every craftsman in whose mind the LORD had put skill.” The LORD has put skill in your mind. He put it there for His glory. However, whether or not your natural talents are given for the work is up to you. There were people who the LORD had given skill to work on the temple that didn’t. Their hearts weren’t stirred to help. So they didn’t.

Each one must give as he has decided in his heart, not reluctantly or under compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver. 2 Corinthians 9:7

I almost always hear this scripture in reference to tithes and offering. Money isn’t even mentioned here! A cheerful giver means giving in a manner that is noticeably happy and optimistic. You can give of your time, your resources, your talents, and YOURSELF cheerfully. I have not been cheerful about giving of myself lately. I have been giving grudgingly and in an obligatory manner. That attitude is not pleasing to God. The good news is that I can change my attitude and I can ask God to forgive me for being selfish. Because Jesus died on the cross for our sins, my bad attitude is covered when I ask forgiveness.

I don’t want to miss out on the blessing of building the plans God has for me.

Leave a Reply

