Thirsty Thursday: Called By Name

Bezalel was born a slave in Egypt. He probably thought that was all he would ever be. Most likely, he never wondered if God would use him to do anything great. What can be done when you’re considered property?

Then God used Moses to free the Israelites from bondage (Exodus 3:7-12). While they were in the wilderness, God told Moses He wanted a tabernacle to be built (Exodus 26). He had specific designs, furnishings, and motifs in mind. He also knew who was to be the leader in building the tabernacle and all it contained.

The Lord said to Moses, “See, I have called by name Bezalel the son of Uri, the son of Hur, of the tribe of Judah, and I have filled him with the Spirit of God, with ability and intelligence, with knowledge and all craftmanship, to devise artistic designs, to work in gold, silver, and bronze, in cutting stones for setting and in carving wood, to work in every craft. Exodus 31:1-5

God gave Bezalel certain gifts. He gave Bezalel these talents to build the tabernacle. Bezalel would even make the ark of the covenant, which is amazing (Exodus 37:1-9). The place where God would dwell on earth. The very seat of God’s mercy on earth would be fashioned by Bezalel’s hands. The hands of a former slave of Egypt no less.

You have been called by name to do the extraordinary. Let me tell you, I do not feel very extraordinary. I feel ordinary. Most days, I feel less than ordinary. But I have been called by name to be Hunny’s wife. I have been called by name to be Yeeyum’s mommy. I have been called by name to be Cupcake’s caregiver. These sound pretty ordinary, but when I ask God to show His glory through this work, it is extraordinary.

Here’s a personal example: When Hunny and I were dating, he had a pencil sketch of a flower on his desk. He told me that he would paint it some time in the distant future. I kept asking him about this flower. I felt like God gave him a gifting to art and that I was meant to encourage him in it. He finished that piece and it reawakened his love of art. Since then, he has painted numerous paintings, done several art shows, donated art for a fundraiser, and has sold his artwork.

God has called you by name to be a sister, to be a friend, to be a spouse, to be a co-worker, to be an employer… He has called YOU. You were meant to do the extraordinary. God wants to use you to make something amazing on earth.

Leave a Reply

