Thirsty Thursday: Heart Movements

While we were surviving the plague, I was not reading my Bible or meditating. I just could not read or meditate while sick this go around. I know that it really effected my mood, but I was unable to concentrate enough to put letters together to form words and words into sentences in my mind while sick and tending to other sick people. Being sick as a grown up is exhausting.

I’m finally starting to feel like I can do normal things again, like read and take showers on a regular basis. As I was getting back into meditation, my heart caught this:

From every man whose heart moves him you shall receive the contribution for me. And this is the contribution that you shall receive from them: gold, silver, and bronze, blue and purple and scarlet yarns and fine twined linen, goats’ hair, tanned rams’ skins, goatskins, acacia wood, oil for the lamps, spices for the anointing oil and for the fragrant incense, onyx stones, and stones for setting, for the ephod and for the breastpiece. Exodus 25:2b-7.

I meditated on “From every man whose heart moves him you shall receive the contribution for me.” God is going to move you to give to Him. The great thing about His movement in your heart is that He is never going to ask you to give something you don’t already have. I looked at the list of things people were going to contribute to the sanctuary. Everything from glorious gold to precious stones to ordinary lumber to boring oil was to be given. The same person who is moved to give silver is not the person who has scarlet yarn in their closet. God isn’t going to move you to sell the scarlet yarn so you can give silver. He’s going to ask you to give the precious scarlet yarn you have been saving to make that family heirloom quilt. I put myself in this list. I think God would have moved me to give oil or spices. Hunny and I eat at home more than the average person, so we have olive oil and spices for cooking. I have a few rings with precious stones in them given to me from family during childhood. Maybe God would move me to give those as contribution.

So many people in our lives have needs. Needs that God wants to use you to meet. You may hear of someone’s need that you are able to meet, someone needs work done on their house and you know how to do it, or someone needs encouragement and you send them a positive message. But there will be times you hear of a need that you aren’t meant to meet. You don’t have extra money to support a missionary. You don’t have the time to tutor your friend’s child in math. You can’t meet the need. But you can pray. You can pray for that person to be patient and wait on the Lord. You can pray for the people who are supposed to meet the need that they will contribute and won’t loose out on the blessing of giving. You can pray.

I’m praying for you right now.

DSC02803

Leave a Reply

