Casting the Nativity: Mary and Joseph

I love Christmas and I love doing Christmas themed posts! Last year, I was unable to finish my 12 Days of Christmas series (bad, blogger, bad!). In my defense, I did have to tend to a three month old and an out of work husband.

This year I am envisioning who would play the roles in the Nativity. Since this is my vision, I am choosing whoever I want! Dead and living, known and unknowns, and I hope you enjoy it!

Mary – Hailee Steinfeld

Mary is a tough cookie. She was hanging around her house one day and an angel tells her that she’s going to carry the Messiah. At first, she’s scared, but then she’s excited and she’s ready to do what she has to do (Luke 1:26-38). Even if it means having to visit her cousin Elizabeth and be away from her family and friends (Luke 1:39-40). She even gives birth in a barn with only Joseph’s help, who probably wasn’t versed in things such as what one does with placenta or an umbilical cord (Luke 2:7). Unlike me. I was a little paranoid that Hunny would not get home in time to take me to the hospital, so I read up on and was prepared to give birth in the bathtub alone. I know that makes me sound crazy, but that’s what hormones can do to a person.

The role Hailee played in True Grit is what made me lean toward her for Mary. She was fearless and confidant. The character knew what she had to do and she did it. Hailee played that out beautifully.

Joseph – Harrison Ford

No, not this one!

This one.

Joseph was a carpenter with a kind heart. Here he is preparing for a wedding with a standard feast to go along with it, and he finds out his bride to be is pregnant. With someone else’s baby! Instead of having Mary stoned for getting pregnant, which was the punishment for such a thing in those times, he decides to divorce her quietly. An angel tells him that the baby Mary’s carrying is God’s Son and that he should still marry her. He trusts that what the angel says is true and he marries pregnant Mary (Matthew 1:18-25).

Harrison Ford is a carpenter, too. The younger version of Ford I chose is much older than Steinfeld, which may be closer to the age difference between the real couple. Hunny told me that they think Joseph died before Jesus started his ministry at the age of 30 because Joseph is never mentioned in the Bible again. He is mentioned when they leave Jesus at the temple. Jesus was about twelve at the time.

My Mary and Joseph were in Ender’s Game together

Tomorrow’s casting call is for Elizabeth and Zechariah.

Leave a Reply

