Thirsty Thursday: Taken

Enoch walked with God, and he was not, for God took him. Genesis 5:24

I think this is one of the most romantic things in the Bible (Don’t even bring up Song of Solomon.  That book is not romantic to me. At all. When you think about the 300 wives and 700 concubines the author had, it kind of dampens the sentiment. He probably got all the girls with the “your teeth are as white as a baby lamb” line).

Enoch was living his life and doing his own thing.  At the age of 65, something amazing happened.  He has a son.  I can tell you from person experience that having a child is an amazing life changer.  Seeing this new life, a tiny person God gave him, Enoch decides it’s time to get himself together.  He takes a big step and walks with God.

Enoch loves God and God loves Enoch.  God loves Enoch so much that He can’t stand the distance our fallen world put between them.  He wanted Enoch to be right there with Him and He couldn’t bare to be without Enoch.  So He took him.  God waited as long as He could, 365 years.

Man, what is it like to be loved like that?

I felt like God answered, You are.  Because I am.  You are, too.

God couldn’t stand the thought of sin and destruction keeping us apart, so He sent His son Jesus to earth to die on a cross to break the chains of sin and death.  Nothing is between us.  His Holy Spirit resides in me.  I can talk to Him anytime that I want, anywhere I want.  I don’t have to go to a temple or submit a sacrifice or confess to a priest.  I just talk. He listens.  And He speaks to me.  He speaks to me through His word, His people, and the gorgeous surroundings of this wonderful planet.

Death, time, space, sin, nothing can keep us from the love God has for us.  Enoch was taken, but Jesus was given so that we wouldn’t have to wait to be taken.  We can be with Him now.

Leave a Reply

