I have a new Hero(ine)

I hope all my American readers had a fantastic Labor Day.  I spent the weekend attempting to relax, which is not easy in my house.  I love relaxing, but Hunny does not have any idea how to relax.  I think it part of it has to do with his upbringing, always being on the go and never being still.  Add an eleven month old who’s getting his eighth tooth…  Not much relaxing….

I got on facebook to see if I could vicariously relax through someone else’s relaxation, and I found a mentor instead.  I follow Script Magazine on facebook and they posted a link to a talk that Charlie Kaufman gave to BAFTA.  I don’t know much about Charlie Kaufman other than he wrote Adaptation and he’s the definition of neurotic.  However, he’s a highly respected screenwriter and it would be disrespectful and foolish not to listen to what he has to say.

When I followed the link, there was a list of screenwriters who gave talks.  A sole woman was on the list: Moira Buffini.  I had never heard of her before.  She reminded me of one of my college friends, so I thought, I’d love to hear a woman’s perspective on the screenwriting journey.

It was beyond encouraging to hear a woman so passionate about writing and film and so positive about her experiences.  It reignited my passion and added positivity to my daily struggle and toil to write something.

I’m listening to her talk again today, and I’d like to share it with you.

Leave a Reply

