Thirsty Thursday: Family

God is so awesome.

I have been privileged enough to have access to the Bible for my entire life.  And I am able to read it.  I have to admit that I am spoiled in that area.  I have had access and ability to read God’s Word daily for the entirety of my life, and I haven’t.  I haven’t.  It makes me sad to think of all the blessings and comfort I could have received but did not because I did not read my Bible.  But I’m making up for it.  I’m not going to let a day go by without meditating on some part of God’s Word.  Even if it is a single word.

Noah and his ark are not new to me.  I can spiel the whole thing to you… Or at least, I thought I could.  God showed something to me that I had never noticed before.

Every beast, every creeping thing, and every bird, everything that moves on the earth, went out by families from the ark. Genesis 8:19

They went in as couples and came out with families.

Family is so important to God that He not only kept Noah and his family safe and secure in the ark, He gave the animals families.

It reminds me of what becoming a follower of Jesus Christ is like.  You go into it alone.  You pray to God and admit that you are a sinner, you believe that Jesus paid the price for your sins with His life, and you confess Him as your savior.  All alone.  But then something wonderful happens.  You know who your Father is – God.  You have a Brother – Christ, AND you join a family full of brothers and sisters.  All ages, all races, all nations in one family.  It is amazing.

Having a family of your own can be rough.  Sometimes I think, God why did you give me a family?  I don’t know what I’m doing.  Being single was so much easier.  These people are driving me CRAZY! But these are the people God entrusted to me.  They are special to Him and He blessed me with them.  Yes, I wish I could get a moment’s peace more often than once every eight months, but it is an honor to have them in my life.

Take a moment to thank God for the family He gave you and the heavenly family He adopted you into.

Leave a Reply

