Project Positivity (How I’m Escaping the Mark Wahlbergs)

I think I’m going to start referring to “a funk” as “the Mark Wahlbergs.”  For those of you who don’t know, Mark Wahlberg was once the lead singer in Marky Mark and The Funky Bunch.  I seriously hope this catches on.  I think Mark Wahlberg would find it amusing.

I’ve been in a kind of funk recently.  We’ve been working with a nonprofit group that may or may not fire us.  After almost every event we’ve planned, they’ve warned us it might be the last.  Then after it’s a success, we don’t hear anything about it being successful.  Their vision is all out of whack and we’re trying to restore it.  The members of the group are on the fence about us, and even though it’s a part time paying job, it is a 40 – 60 hour almost all consuming job.  We only get paid for 20 hours.

Hunny and I watched a TED talk on positivity.

After watching this talk, I created this:

DSC06367

For the next 21 days, I am going to follow this list: list three things I am thankful for, journal about one positive event during the last 24 hour period, meditate, exercise, and do one random act of kindness.  I think listing three things I am thankful for a day will be pretty easy for me, especially since that is a go to mood lifter for Hunny and me.  The Random Act of Kindness will be slightly more difficult because Hunny and I share a vehicle and I don’t leave my house every day.  Meditating for ten minutes a day and exercising daily are the things that I am most apprehensive about.  Anything that has to do with quiet or keeping my eyes off Yeeyum and Cupcake will be a challenge.  They don’t take naps during the same time.  I might have to rearrange their schedules on that one.  At any rate, I am looking forward to a new challenge, a new outlook, and being more productive.

Leave a Reply

