Thirsty Thursday: The Second Most Wonderful Time of the Year (Christmas in July)

Last year, I sent out Christmas cards in July.  This year I sent those nice picture cards that every family sends during Christmas.  The scan of the card came out awful and I didn’t want to share it.

This Christmas in July (CIJ) finds us in difficult times personally and as Americans.  Hunny and I are waiting on God to give us our new place.  Praying over our health and our family’s health.  Praying over what feels like every aspect of our lives, which you should do in good times and in tough times.  It just feels more urgent and labored.

On my CIJ card, I put the verse Matthew 1:23

“Behold, the virgin shall conceive and bear a son, and they shall call His name Immanuel” (which means, God with us).

God with us.  God is with us.

Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you in My righteous right hand.  Isaiah 41:10

When thinking about the shooting that happened in Colorado, it reminds me that God is with us no matter where we are or what is going on around us.  He is with us wherever we go.

Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil; for thou art with me.  Psalm 23:4a

In the midst of the tragedy, there are miracles and stories of bravery and courage to embolden even the weakest of person.  Among those who died, four protected their girlfriends from the shooting.  Girlfriends.  Not wives.  One couple had only been dating for three weeks.  It makes me think of this verse that most people use to describe what Jesus did for us on the cross:

Greater love has no one than this, than to lay down one’s life for his friends.  John 15:13

One story came out about a young woman whose life was spared by a brain “defect” she didn’t know she had and wouldn’t have known unless she had a CAT scan done (Read about that here).  That reminds me of this:

For you formed my inward parts; you knitted me together in my mother’s womb.  I praise you for I am fearfully and wonderfully made.  Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well.  Psalm 139:13-14

God sent Jesus so that we could have “God with us.”  So that we would never be truly alone (Matthew 28:18-20).  So that comfort would always be within reach (Isaiah 49:13Psalm 119:50).  God with us means peace on earth and goodwill toward men (Luke 2:14).  Happy Christmas in July.

One thought on “Thirsty Thursday: The Second Most Wonderful Time of the Year (Christmas in July)

  1. Pingback: 30 Days, 30 Movies {Day 18} Holiday Movie – Young Frankenstein | Polite and (paranoid)

Leave a Reply

