12 Days of Christmas {Polite and (paranoid) Style} 11 Elves Singing or (Elf)

Some people make fun of Elf, but I think it is a great movie.  It also shares a great Christmas principle, “The best way to spread Christmas cheer, is singing loud for all to hear.”

Our December has been… How shall I put this delicately?  A crap festival.  I’m not even kidding.  From Hunny’s employment status to being lied about to health issues, it has been a string of horrendous catastrophes.  Something that has helped keep our sanity intact has been singing Christmas songs.  It’s also stated in the Bible that the Lord consoles us.  He can give you “the garment of praise for the spirit of heaviness” (Isaiah 61:3).  One day that was particularly hard, I started singing Go Tell It on the Mountain and it completely changed my mood.  I wasn’t depressed.  I was happy again.

Another thing Hunny and I do to change our outlook on life is to say five things we are thankful for that day.  Some days are harder than others.  Some days I say things like running water, the ability to breathe, or that I’m not dead yet.  Those are all valid things to be thankful for, but they aren’t heartfelt and they don’t take much thought.  Even when saying things like this, it still turns my heart away from selfish pity and opens my eyes to the things God has given me.

I don’t know if you are having a jolly holiday season or not.  If you aren’t, consider listing five things you are thankful for right now.  Or sing along with this song.  This song focuses on what Christmas really means, and it has helped me redirect my focus.

Leave a Reply

