12 Days of Christmas {Polite and (paranoid) Style} 9 Reindeer on Display or (Miracle on 34th Street)

*SPOILER ALERT: Only grown ups should read this post.  Thank you!*

Hunny and I did not grow up believing in Santa Clause.  Both of our mothers were traumatized when they found out Santa Clause was not real.  I was strictly coached by my mother to NOT tell other children that Santa Clause was fake.  Fast forward to first grade, I was still relatively new at school and two boys were arguing about whether or not Santa Clause was real.  I turned away to keep from being dragged into the discussion, but no, for some reason, I was chosen to settle the score.

Boy #1 hastily asked me, “Is Santa Clause real?”

I don’t know.

Boy #2, “No.  Tell us the truth.”

I don’t know.

Angrily, Boy #1 asked for the last time, “Come on, tell us.  Is Santa Clause real or what?”

I don’t know.

Man, my six-year-old self would have been a rockin’ politician!

I watched Miracle on 34th Street for the first time ever this year.  Hunny insisted that it should be included in my 12 Days of Christmas.  This movie has a great opening.  An older gentleman is walking around New York City and he stops to watch a man dress the window of a shop.  He tells the guy that the display is all wrong.  Dasher is on his right and Blitzen has four points on his antelers, but no one would know that except him.  From the beginning, we see that this gentleman, who looks like the embodiment of Santa Clause, knows things only Santa would know.

 

Is he not the most perfect Santa you have ever seen?  If you haven’t seen the movie, you should watch it to see what Santa would be like if he were real.

I don’t care too much for the look of this Santa.  I really like the original, so I don’t really feel like I should watch the remake.  Is there anyone out there who would care to change my mind?  I could be swayed if enough people prefer it to the original.

Leave a Reply

