12 Days of Christmas {Polite and (paranoid) Style} 3 Spirits Visit or (A Christmas Carol)

How many adaptations of this story have you seen?  Take a moment to think about it… Three, four?  Or is it closer to ten?  How many times have you read the Dicken’s story?  One?  Never?!  If you haven’t read it, stop reading this blog and get your booty to the library.  There is no film version that captures what you get when you read the story for yourself.  I know you may think that you can’t get anything new from it.  Believe me.  Just read it.

Now that I got that out of my system, I have to say that the Mickey Mouse version is my favorite Christmas Carol adaptation.  Scrooge McDuck was named for the Dicken’s character afterall, so he’s perfect in the role.  Mickey Mouse is pretty much type cast as the loving underdog Crachett.  Goofy is hilarious as Scrooge’s pal Marley.  I could go on and on about how great this version is, but that would be boring.

I really wanted to see the 3D version of A Christmas Carol with Jim Carrey in the theaters, but Hunny never took me.  Well, it’s not all his fault.  The closest theater showing it was 45 minutes away, which is even longer when you factor in holiday traffic.  I could have gone by myself.  Hunny’s not into 3D anything, so I should have gone by myself.  I watched this version for the first time last year, and I didn’t care for it.  I think it would have been better in 3D, which isn’t saying much.  I was distracted by all the voices Jim Carrey did.  Did the Disney people look over his salary and think, Hey!  We’re getting ripped off here.  Let’s make him do more voices.  That’ll make up for the money.  They were wrong.

If you like Bill Murray and enjoy dark comedies, you have to see Scrooged.  Bill Murray plays a TV executive who has to make a television adaptation of A Christmas Carol.  He hates Christmas and is an all around bad guy, so the Christmas spirits visit him.  It’s hilarious and horrifying all at the same time.  I’m not a horror fan, but I think this film should be included in the genre.  Don’t watch it late at night.  You won’t be able to sleep.

2 thoughts on “12 Days of Christmas {Polite and (paranoid) Style} 3 Spirits Visit or (A Christmas Carol)

Leave a Reply

