30 Days, 30 Movies {Day 29} John Hughes or (Planes, Trains, and Automobiles)

My quest to watch this movie is eerily similar to that of Neal Page’s quest to get home for Thanksgiving.  Our local video rental establishment had the movie in their selection, but it was checked out.  That didn’t bother me.  I just kept trying until it was available to rent.  I had no idea that it would take this long.  Two months later, they tell me that they longer carry it because the person who rented it never returned it.  That made me mad.  When Hunny and I had a DVD stolen from our car, we had to replace the movie…  Yes, that actually happened to us.  That’s what happens when you live in Statesvegas.  So I found another way to obtain the movie to watch and share with you (Although it took forever, it’s kind of serendipitous that I’m sharing this movie near the holiday).

I didn’t have much respect for John Hughes until recently.  I always thought that he did teen flicks in the 80’s (I don’t care for any of them).  Then I found out that he did Uncle Buck, Home Alone, and this film.  On the DVD extras for Planes, Trains, and Automobiles, he explained how he came up with the idea for The Breakfast Club.  The first two scripts he did were not teen films.  He knew that he had to write a cheap script if he wanted to be allowed to direct one of his own movies, so he thought that he would have all the characters in one room.  After brainstorming, he came up with kids in detention.  The idea for Planes, Trains, and Automobiles came to him when his flight was rerouted to Wichita and it took him five days to get home.

I noticed something when I watched this film on DVD.  Most 80’s movies are very dated because of the crazy 80’s music that was in them.  All of the movies John Hughes did in the 80’s have that weird synthesized music with the strange voices over it (Like the “oh yeah” in Ferris Beuller’s Day Off).  I think it takes away from the movie.  All the corny 60’s beach bum movies have the same problem.  They have dated soundtracks that forever keep them frozen in their decade.

Where do you stand on this?  Do you think that music can date a movie?  Do you think it enhances the film or do you feel that dated music takes away from the movie?

Favorite Line: Why do I feel like I’m back in summer camp?

Favorite Character: Del Griffith

Favorite Scene:  When Del sells curtain rings as earrings to the people at the bus station.

Leave a Reply

