Thirsty Thursday: Searching for You

When Hunny and I went on our long trek to see his family, I lost my engagement ring.

Hunny found my wedding band and the other ring I had been wearing that weekend on the floor in our hotel room.  Unfortunately, my engagement ring was not with them.  I knew it had to be in the room somewhere.  I went through both trash cans taking out every single item.  I looked through our dirty clothes.  I searched the ten inches of carpet between my side of the bed and the window.  I looked in drawers.  I looked everywhere.

This ring means a great deal to me and to Hunny.  When he offered to have it replaced, I cried, “We don’t have the money for that, and it won’t be the ring you proposed with.”  Then we did what we should have done when I realized the ring was missing: we prayed.  We asked God that we would find the ring in the room before we had to check out.

After looking everywhere, and now doubting that I even had it in the room, our time was up.  We had to check out.  We prayed one last time.  Hunny hugged me and he dropped what he had in his hands on the floor.  I bent over to pick it up, and there was the ring!  It was under the bed in a spot I hadn’t looked before (and I would have sworn that I checked every inch of that carpet).  We were so happy!  I wanted to call everyone I knew right then and there to share my joy.

God feels the same way about us.  Jesus was hanging out and some people with bad reputations came to Him.  The “religious” people, Pharisees, were there and were unhappy that Jesus wanted to spend time with the “bad” people.  Jesus said:

“What man of you, having a hundred sheep, if he has lost one of them, does not leave the ninety-nine in the open country, and go after the one that is lost, until he finds it?  And when he has found it, he lays it on his shoulders, rejoicing. And when he comes home, he calls together his friends and his neighbors, saying to them, ‘Rejoice with me, for I have found my sheep that was lost.’ Just so, I tell you, there will be more joy in heaven over one sinner who repents than over ninety-nine righteous persons who need no repentance.

“Or what woman, having ten silver coins, if she loses one coin, does not light a lamp and sweep the house and seek diligently until she finds it? And when she has found it, she calls together her friends and neighbors, saying, ‘Rejoice with me, for I have found the coin that I had lost.’  Just so, I tell you, there is joy before the angels of God over one sinner who repents.”  Luke 15: 3-10

More often than not, I’m the lady with the lost coin.  Searching frantically for something I’ve misplaced.  I can attest to how exciting it is to find what you are looking for.  I can’t begin to imagine how awesome it is in heaven when one of us turns to Jesus.  He is right there with us waiting for us to turn around and say, “I can’t do this life thing on my own.  I need Your help.”

God tells us He is easy to find.

You will seek me and find me, when you seek me with all your heart. Jeremiah 29:13

To learn more go here.

Leave a Reply

