Thirsty Thursday: Today is All You Have

Death surrounds me.

Steve Jobs’ death is not as impacting or profound in my personal life as the death of my Uncle.  But it is still a harsh blow.  Steve Jobs was born the same year as my parents.  In recent years, he has been a huge inspiration to me, not as the co-founder of Apple computers, but as the guy who helped Pixar become a company when George Lucas was willing to let it die.  Thankfully, like my Uncle, Steve Jobs is no longer suffering under cancer’s cruel reign.

My friend and fellow blogger Daniel wrote a post about Steve Jobs’ death.  He said that he always thought Steve Jobs would get better and keep creating innovative products.  That’s the problem many of us have (including and maybe foremost myself).  We incorrectly assume we have an unlimited amount of time on earth.  We don’t.  Our days are numbered.

O LORD, make me know my end
and what is the measure of my days;
let me know how fleeting I am!
Behold, you have made my days a few handbreadths,
and my lifetime is as nothing before you.
Surely all mankind stands as a mere breath!
Selah                  Psalm 39:4,5

This is meant as an inspiration to live today at its fullest.  Here is an inspiring look at life from Steve Jobs’ 2005 commencement speech at Stanford University:

Remembering that I’ll be dead soon is the most important tool I’ve ever encountered to help me make the big choices in life. Because almost everything—all external expectations, all pride, all fear of embarrassment or failure—these things just fall away in the face of death, leaving only what is truly important. Remembering that you are going to die is the best way I know to avoid the trap of thinking you have something to lose. You are already naked. There is no reason not to follow your heart.

Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life. Don’t be trapped by dogma—which is living with the results of other people’s thinking. Don’t let the noise of others’ opinions drown out your own inner voice.”

It’s so true.  God gave you a purpose.  God gave you a specific job to do on earth.  Aside from knowing Jesus Christ as your personal savior, there is nothing more important than fulfilling God’s will for your life.  I remember hearing a pastor say, “God is not going to ask you why you weren’t more like Moses or more like your successful neighbor.  He’s going to ask you why you weren’t more like you.”  You are the only you God has created or will ever create.  You are it.  If you die today, there will never be another person with your abilities, passions, appearance, and opportunities.  Make the most of what you’ve been given, where you are, right now for His glory.

Today is all you have.

2 thoughts on “Thirsty Thursday: Today is All You Have

  1. Wow. Really, wow. This post gave me goosebumps. It is so very true. It’s similar to the idea of imagining your own funeral – who will be there and how will they think of you? Will they remember all those business deals you made, or will they remember your passion, your generosity, your love? I guess I look at it like if you were to die today, would you be proud of how you lived your life? It makes it much easier to find the right choices. It’s so easy to get caught up in the minutae of everyday life but the answers to these big questions are what is truly important. Thankyou for articulating it so beautifully! 🙂

    Cat

Leave a Reply

