Apparently, It Can Get Worse or (I’m Wrong Sometimes…)

Yesterday, I claimed Thursday the “crown jewel” in a bad week.  I was wrong.  The Uncle I mentioned in that post went home to be with the Lord (I plan on writing a post about him next week).

Then I got this in my email:

My name is not listed.  I think I would be less sad about not being a finalist if that news weren’t paired with a loved one’s death.  I would still be sad, though.  I was pretty confident that I would make the finalists.  More confident than I have been in myself in a super long time.

I should look at both of these devastating events in a positive light.  My Uncle was suffering.  He was on a morphine drip, and he was still in excruciating pain.  He is no longer losing his battle with cancer.  I have a story idea that I never would have come up with on my own because I participated in this contest.  It is completely outside my comfort zone.  I know I will become a better writer because of it.

But right now, I can’t.  I’m allowing myself to cry and grieve.  Even Jesus cried when He heard about His friend dying:

Jesus wept. John 11:35 (Here’s more)

By the way, this is the shortest verse in the Bible.  It’s the one my brothers and I chose to memorize in a Sunday School contest to see who could memorize the most verses.  In retrospect, I don’t think that’s the best method to get kids to memorize scripture…

Leave a Reply

