Thirsty Thursday: Encouragement

One summer day, I was minding my own eleven year old business taking laundry down from the line.  My Uncle Arlin pulled up with my cousin Adrienne.  He shouted up to me, “I’m proud of you.”  What?  He said, “I’m proud of you for being responsible and doing the laundry.”  Seriously?  In my family, one did not receive praise for doing what is expected.  Extraordinary feats of any kind deserve praise and adulation.  Ordinary duties get no attention of any kind, unless they aren’t done.  Then you get negative attention.

Today has been the crown jewel in an awful week.  I’m sick (and I’m pretty sure I covered how I feel about that here).  The weather where I live has been completely schizophrenic, which takes a toll on a person.  It’s been gray and rainy the entire week, but alternating cold and hot.  How weird is that?

Hunny needed me to go to the Post Office and mail something.  Since the Post Office is around the corner, I walk.  I’m carrying a medium sized box and Cupcake across the road.  Cupcake is wearing her rain boots.  As I make it across the street, a car honks at me twice.  I look back with the sick feeling that Cupcake’s boot is in the road.  It is.  I run back to the spot in the road trying to pick up the boot, not drop Cupcake or the box, and avoid getting run over. Thankfully, we made it inside safe and sound.  I try to ignore the post lady’s bad attitude.  I know deep down it isn’t directed toward me, and I know I’m sick, so I am more sensitive than usual (Even things on facebook got to me today.  Facebook is the devil.  I think I am going to permanently switch to Google Plus).

We leave the Post Office and I’m winded.  I am beyond exhausted.  I am also determined not to let one of Cupcake’s boots fall in the road, so I carry her in such a manner that I have my hands on them.  The light changes and I’m waiting for cars to turn so that I can cross.  Right in the middle of the road, I notice the light changing, “Oh, crap!”  I start running and I hear a sweet little voice say, “Oh cap.”  Then she starts singing it.  I try to hold back the tears thinking about teaching Cupcake to say crap.  I am definitely getting my Mary Poppins license revoked.

I’m tired.  I feel terrible.  Cupcake wants to walk a different way to look at a tree, so I let her.  We walk around the corner to see this:

This picture does not do the Monarch butterfly I saw today justice (Where’s my camera when I need it?).  It was stunning.   It was huge and so bright.  The way the orange wings looked against the pale lavender petals of the flower it was enjoying was breath taking.  I knew that was God encouraging me.  It’s ok.  You are doing a great job.  I’m proud of you.  Look at this butterfly I brought to you.  Enjoy it!

Everyone we know needs encouragement sometimes.  We are told to encourage each other:

Therefore encourage one another and build one another up, just as you are doing.  1 Thessalonians 5:11

If you need encouragement, I want you to know that you are awesome.  God loves you and He is very proud of all that you are doing.

6 thoughts on “Thirsty Thursday: Encouragement

Leave a Reply

