30 Days, 30 Movies {Day 27} Bollywood or (Jab We Met)

Ok, guys, I will admit it.  I picked a dud.  It’s ok, though.  Trying to pick a movie from a genre you have never experienced is tricky, and now I know that picking a great movie blindly from a genre you know nothing about is nearly impossible (At least, it is for me!).

When I told one of my friends the genres I was doing for this 30 Days, 30 Movies series, he said, “Bollywood movies aren’t all that special.  It’s a bunch of pretty girls driving cars and singing.”  That kind of sounded like bad movie gold to me.  I was kind of looking forward to a campy musical filled with bright colors and even brighter characters bursting into song.

Jab We Met was not what I was looking for.  I was starting to think that this wasn’t a true Bollywood movie when there hadn’t been a song and almost 40 minutes had gone by.  The second song had the dancing and bright colors I had been wanting, but the third song was less dancing and almost no color. Despite it being over 2 hours, the songs were really short.

The most intriguing part of watching this movie was how the characters randomly spoke English in between speaking their languages (by inference in the dialogue, I learned that they spoke two dialects).  I tried to see if there was a pattern to the English interspersed with their own language, but there wasn’t.  They didn’t even say the same English words all the time.  For example, sometimes “thank you” would be in English and other times it was in Hindi.  Does anyone know how this came about or why?  I’d love to know.  People would look at me as if I were crazy if I threw in a French word or phrase when I spoke.

Have you ever blindly chosen a movie that was a huge failure in viewing?  This isn’t the first time for me.

Favorite Line: I am my favorite

Favorite Character: Geet’s Grandpa

Favorite Scene: When Aditya imagines Geet in his life

Leave a Reply

