Thirsty Thursday: Those Who Mistreat You

Relationships involve give and take.  Then there are relationships where one party does all the giving and the other party is constantly taking.  Hunny and I have this relationship with people to which we are related.

Earlier this week, Hunny came home dejected because said people, who are taking advantage of us quite frankly, said they heard we had a “house church.”  For those of you who do not know, some people have church service out of their home.  Hunny and I have not started a house church, but if God calls us to do so, we will do it!  Anyway, said people let Hunny know in no uncertain terms that they would not let their daughter attend church with us.  That really hurt Hunny.  It hurt me by default.

So I went on a tiny tirade:

I cannot believe that!  THEY are the ones missing out on how awesome YOU are!  They can use us for this and that, but they don’t think God can use us to lead a church.  Everything they do is for religion and to show how religious they are. 

That is true, but things took a turn…

We go above and beyond for them.  Well, we are going to keep loving them because that is what God wants us to do, but we are not trying anymore!  I’m done!

Yeah.  That’s how it went down…

The next day I was reading in Luke chapter 6:

But I say to you who hear, Love your enemies, do good to those who hate you, bless those who curse you, pray for those who abuse you. (verses 27, 28)

Oh, yeah.

To one who strikes you on the cheek, offer the other also, and from one who takes away your cloak do not withhold your tunic either.  Give to everyone who begs from you, and from one who takes away your goods do not demand them back. (verses 29, 30)

How much more wrong can I get?

And if you do good to those who do good to you, what benefit is that to you?  For even sinners do the same.  And if you lend to those from whom you expect to receive, what credit is that to you?  Even sinners lend to sinners, to get back the same amount. (verses 33, 34)

This is the verse that really made me feel completely foolish.

But love your enemies, and do good, and lend, expecting nothing in return, and your reward will be great, and you will be sons of the Most High, for He is kind to the ungrateful and the evil. (verse 35, Emphasis mine)

I want to be known as the daughter of the Most High.  I want to follow His perfect ways.  I immediately asked God to forgive me for my incorrect thinking on this, and I shared with Hunny what God had told me about my attitude and my view.

I guess subconsciously I was being extra nice to these people because I hoped that they would change and be nice to us.  Or at least to Hunny.  They are not going to change.  Nothing I do will change them.  But I can keep praying for them.  I can love them.  We can continue to do nice things for them and expect nothing in return.  So far, that is what we have gotten.  But it does not matter.  God sees how we are being treated.  What matters is that we are children of the Most High and we act accordingly because God sees what we are doing, too.

The next time you are mistreated, pray for that person and do something nice for them.  And think about this quote:

Unkindness almost always stands for the displeasure that one has in oneself. -Adrienne Monnier

Sometimes people are unkind and mean to us because they are hurting and need kindness in their lives.

Leave a Reply

