30 Days, 30 Movies {Day 24} Murder Mystery or (The Thin Man)

This is my third William Powell movie to be featured in this 30 Days, 30 Movies series.  The first one was How to Marry a Millionaire.  He’s only in two or three scenes, but it still counts.

The Thin Man was based on the novel of the same name by Dashiell Hammett.  He wrote a series of novels with the characters Nick and Nora Charles, a husband and wife detective duo.  The title of the movie and book does not refer to Nick Charles, but since moviegoers kept calling Nick Charles “the thin man,” the studio used the name in the sequels.

My favorite part of this movie is the relationship between Nick Charles and his wife Nora.  I love that they are always lovingly teasing each other.  When they disagree, they don’t scream at each other.  It closely resembles the jokey relationship Hunny and I have, but Nick and Nora are much more witty.  I read that Dashiell Hammett based Nick and Nora’s relationship on his relationship with his girlfriend and fellow writer Lillian Helmann.

Johnny Depp is in talks to do The Thin Man remake.  I think there is a possibility that it could be phenomenal.  Who wants to join me in a campaign to make me Nora Charles?  Anyone?  Anyone?

Reminder: The contest is still on!  It will close on Friday (9/9).  I will choose and announce the winner on Saturday (9/10).

Favorite Line: Nicky, I love you because you know such lovely people.

Favorite Character: Asta

Favorite Scene: The dinner scene

Leave a Reply

