Happy Birthday to Us or (The One Year Anniversary of this Blog)

One year ago today, Polite and (paranoid) was born.  I started this blog as an outlet for writing, a way to break writer’s block, and a distraction from my employment status or lack thereof.  I am really excited about this day and a little surprised that it is here.  This is not the first blog I have written.

I started a blog six years ago that had maybe three posts.  I was writing it as a character, like that girl who was a youtube sensation until it was discovered that she wasn’t a teenager and two middle aged dudes were writing her vlog.  I was hoping that I would become an internet hit like that girl, but I had trouble coming up with fake daily events for a fake person.  You would think this would be easy for a writer.

I started another blog a year later to have an outlet for my surly side, but she’s kind of a pest and I don’t really care for her.  I prefer to diminish her, which has worked pretty well so far.  You should have seen my surly side as a teenager… YIKES!  And I formally apologize to everyone who knew me then.

I started a blog about movies three months before I started this blog.  I mainly wrote about movies I watched on Netflix, but I was kind of intimidated by all the other movie reviewing blogs out there.  So I thought I’d start one that was more about who I am than what I think about movies.

After I started this blog,  I felt lost and didn’t know where this was going.  No one was reading my posts, but I’m not a blogger.  I’m a screenwriter primarily.  I was confused.  I didn’t understand why no one was reading my blog (I’ll let you in on a little secret.  Other than Hunny, no one I know reads this blog.  A few of my friends know I have a blog, but they don’t read it because I haven’t given them the website… Hey!  Don’t look at my surly side that way, it isn’t her fault that they didn’t ask).  I didn’t write during the holidays.  But I did enjoy spending time with my family.  When I returned to the blog after the holidays, I had more of a sense of what I wanted to blog about.  Even though I am still not where I want to be (as a writer in general), I’m having fun enjoying the bumps along the road and sharing them with you.

Instead of asking you to send me a gift, which would be appropriate considering one does receive gifts on their birthday, I am giving you the opportunity to win a copy of Day 24’s movie, The Thin Man!  In order to win, you have to do one of the following steps:

  1. Subscribe to this blog
  2. Like or Comment on a blog post (it doesn’t have to be this one)
Those who already subscribe are automatically entered in the contest.  If they have commented or liked a post, they have a second entry.  BONUS chance to win by:
  • Referring a friend to my blog or twitter account (let me know which friend of yours is following me so you get credit)
Super easy!  Three chances to win The Thin Man.  Happy Birthday to us.

This Could Be Yours

2 thoughts on “Happy Birthday to Us or (The One Year Anniversary of this Blog)

  1. Congratulations on a year! It seems like you’ve found forum where all your personalities get to come out to play.

    And we have many, IMO. I often quote another screenwriter, Michael Ventura, who wrote, “If you are the only one in the room, it is still a crowded room.”

Leave a Reply

