30 Days, 30 Movies {Day 14} Buddy Film or (Tommy Boy)

Tommy Boy holds a special place in my heart.  My best friend’s mom snagged the movie poster from a local theater for her.  It was the coolest thing my best friend owned, and she was on top of all the trends.  She had CK One and a Virtual Boy.

Hunny and I bonded over our mutual love for Tommy Boy early in our relationship.  We recite dialogue from the film to each other and refer to the movie in our regular life (I know what you’re thinking, and you’re right: we’re nerds).  He always buys peanut M&Ms when he wants to watch the movie with me solely because I have to eat peanut M&M’s when I watch it.  Every time I see Tommy put the bag on the dash and the candies roll inside, I have to have some.  I can’t explain it.  It’s just one of those things.

Tommy Boy is a beautifully crafted buddy comedy.  The transition from Big Tom’s wedding to his funeral is perfect.  It is eloquent the way this comedy is about something as devastatingly sad as the death of a parent and possible demise of a town, and yet when I think about this movie, I think about how hilarious it is.  I could never put my finger on what makes this movie great and why I have been able to enjoy it from pre-adolescense into adulthood.  The storyline.  I learned in researching the movie for this blog that the storyline is an update on Hamlet.  Tommy is the prince.  His father dies.  His mother is Gertrude who is married to his step-brother, Claudius.  Richard is Horatio.  Shakespeare knew a thing or two about telling a compelling story, but Bonnie and Terry Turner took his drama and turned into comedic gold.

Favorite Line: Holy Schinkeys!

Favorite Character: Tie!  Richard and Tommy

Favorite Scene:  When Tommy tries to persuade a potential client by using the model cars on his desk in a demonstration that ends in a fiery mess.

4 thoughts on “30 Days, 30 Movies {Day 14} Buddy Film or (Tommy Boy)

Leave a Reply

