30 Days, 30 Movies {Day 12} Audrey Hepburn or (Breakfast at Tiffany’s)

Audrey Hepburn is Hunny’s old Hollywood crush.  When we met, I asked him if he’d seen Breakfast at Tiffany’s.  He surprisingly had not.  Once we had been dating for a while, I had to get it for him as a gift.  I had never seen it either.  We were so excited to watch such an iconic movie.

Then we watched it.  I was disappointed.  I guess I built it up in my mind to be this great Audrey Hepburn movie.  The pictures of her from that movie are all over the place.  I haven’t been to Target lately, but I’m sure you’ll find something with her face on it from this movie there.

I should defend my opinion for not enjoying a classic.  Not just any classic, but a classic based on a book!  According to my knowledge of Seinfeld, Fred is gay in the book.  But that’s besides the point.  While watching this movie, I had no vested interest in the characters.  All I could think about was how Holly got paid $50 to go to the powder room, “How did she get those guys to give her that much money for nothing?  It seems like she’s a prostitute who takes the money without performing as it were.  How does that work?”  See what I mean?  I’m not thinking about what’s going on in the film.  I’m thinking about the drunken saps who are giving her money and tearing up her apartment.

Watching it a second time didn’t change my opinion.  I went in hoping that I could say that the first time I watched it years ago, I didn’t care for it, and this is a movie that just needs a second viewing.

What about you?  Have you seen it?  Do you love it?  Why?

Favorite Line: Do you think she is deeply and importantly talented?

Favorite Character: Doc Golightly (the future Jed Clampett)

Favorite Scene: When Fred takes Holly to the library.

4 thoughts on “30 Days, 30 Movies {Day 12} Audrey Hepburn or (Breakfast at Tiffany’s)

  1. I love your blog! And I totally agree about Breakfast at Tiffany’s — the best things about the movie are the posters and Audrey’s hairdos! Otherwise the plot if vapid, the narrative is bizarre and I just felt old and cranky — much like when I saw RENT, and I just wanted the stupid kids to pay their rent, already.
    Really can’t wait to check out Stranger Than Fiction – because unlike your dad, I’m one of those easily-delighted dopes that find Will Ferrell hilarious — always!
    Happy weekend!

  2. Very interesting post. I first saw Tiffany’s a few years back on TCM and my overall impression was that it seemed very dated and Audrey verged on being too cute. Yet the movie remains iconic because of her.

    Your post reminded me of other iconic romantic comedies from that era and brought Marilyn Monroe to mind – and I remember really enjoying some of those, like “Some Like it Hot,” and “The Seven Year Itch.”

    • I LOVE Some Like it Hot. I forgot to mention in my post that Truman Capote wanted Marilyn Monroe to play Holly Golightly, but Monroe’s acting coach told her that it would hurt her image to play a prostitute and she would never be taken seriously. Can you imagine what the movie would have been like with Marilyn? Completely different. I might change Billy Wilder day to Some Like it Hot …

Leave a Reply

