30 Days, 30 Movies {Day 8} Elvis or (Harum Scarum)

Before today I had never seen an Elvis Presley movie.  There are many reasons for that, but I think the most prominent is that I was raised by the BIGGEST Beatle’s fan in North America, my mother.  My mom kind of looked down on Elvis, which influenced my perception of him and his music.  That is until I saw A Life Less Ordinary.  His song Always on My Mind is in the movie and on the soundtrack.  It’s a great song.  It changed how I viewed Elvis.  I didn’t become a fan, mind you, but I had no disdain for him either.

I’ve been trying to find out more about Harum Scarum, and I really hope that it was a drive-in movie because this is the perfect make out movie.  I can imagine couples in their cars watching the movie, then getting concessions and hanging out with friends before heading back to “neck,” and then watch more of the movie.  They wouldn’t be missing much.  I watched the movie before I saw the trailer, and if you saw the trailer, you’ve pretty much seen the movie.

This movie has it all: fake countries, crazy costumes (that Elvis enjoyed so much, he wore them at home), assassins, little people, harem girls, a band of thieves, orphans, an autobiographical book as a best seller at the end, and all the unnatural singing for which you could ask.  It is hysterical in its absurdity and it is enjoyable to watch.  I think that mainly has to do with Elvis.  Even his longtime promoter/manager thought this script was goofy.  But then how many movies have a movie inside the movie?  Not many.

There are still Elvis fans out there, but they are few and far between.  I think we should bestow the title of “Modern Elvis” on someone.  If anyone could be the modern day Elvis, I think Justin Timberlake could take the title.  They are both sex symbols of their generation.  They are both talented musicians, singers, and songwriters.  I have to give Justin the title of better actor.  In this movie, Elvis’ singing performances seemed really stiff and unnatural.  I think it is because he was lip synching.  He is a very powerful performer, and I think not being able to belt it out hindered his performances.  Elvis did 31 movies, so JT has some catching up to do.  Do you think Justin Timberlake could be the “Modern Elvis?”  Who would you choose?

Favorite Line: (After hearing that in over 1,000 years no assassin has broken a promise) Well it’s nice to know you’re doing business with such a reputable firm.

Favorite Character: The Slave Girls: Emerald, Sapphire, and Amethyst (they are a package deal)

Favorite Scene: When Princess Shalimar looks at the wading pool in her bedroom and a vision of Elvis serenades her about the pleasures of love, “priceless garments/ persian rugs to enhance your floor/ all the pleasures of love/rich brocade or woven tapestries/ precious jewels to make life complete.”  That guy knows what women want.

2 thoughts on “30 Days, 30 Movies {Day 8} Elvis or (Harum Scarum)

  1. The Elvis movies – and they pop up on TV now and again – are fairly homogenized, but if you see clips of Elvis when he first came out as singer – Elvis the Pelvis – he had that bad boy person I think every real sex symbol needs. And Justin is just – too damned precious for words. Think of it – here was Elvis, this hip-gyrating white guy singing “black music” that has become known as “rock ‘n roll” – and everyone knew what that meant! Justin just doesn’t have the mojo – you want to give him milk and cookies.

Leave a Reply

