30 Days, 30 Movies {Day 6} Alfred Hitchcock or (Dial M for Murder)

In my 30 Days, 30 Movies exercise, I had to have an Alfred Hitchcock day.  Alfred Hitchcock is a legendary director and I think more people know his name than have seen his movies.  He will always be the king of suspense because he understood the human mind and what makes us frightened:

There is no terror in the bang, only in the anticipation of it.

And he also understood what made a good movie:

A good film is when the price of the dinner, the theatre admission, and the babysitter were worth it.

Dial M for Murder was written by the same person who wrote the successful stage play, which explains why this movie is heavy in dialogue.  Great dialogue makes for a great play.  Dial M for Murder is an exceptional thriller because the villian is so evil and cunning.  He manipulates everyone and everything and has no regard for anyone other than himself.  When he speaks about spending hours plotting ways to kill his wife, he says it as though he had been thinking about playing golf.  He is a pathological liar with no remorse.  We, the audience, want to see him get caught, and every time he slips out of trouble we tense up for fear that he will never be caught.

Something about this movie that you may not know: it was filmed and premiered in 3D.  I find that very odd considering most of the movie’s action takes place in an apartment, and most of that action consists of sitting or standing around talking.  Would you have wanted to see this movie in 3D?  Is there a movie that you saw in 3D that you couldn’t image watching regularly?

Favorite Line:  I think I’m going to have that breakdown now.

Favorite Character: Chief Inspector Hubbard

Favorite Scene:  The final scene, I can’t tell you in case you haven’t seen it

2 thoughts on “30 Days, 30 Movies {Day 6} Alfred Hitchcock or (Dial M for Murder)

  1. You’re absolutely right – you gotta have Hitchcock! I might have chosen, “The Birds,” which I still think of every time I see murder of crows on the lines. Or Psycho – “Hey Mom, guess what I did today?”

    Another Hitchcock quote I love is, “Fiction is simply life with the boring parts removed.”

    • Those are great films, too, and I love that quote! Dial M for Murder is a good one, but not my favorite Hitchcock movie. I love Rear Window and To Catch a Thief. I’m saving those for another time 🙂

Leave a Reply

