30 Days, 30 Movies {Day 4} Black and White or (It’s A Wonderful Life)

I am a nerd.  Did you notice that already?  I love movies, especially black and white movies.  I love them.  There’s something about the movies that were made during the “Golden Age” of Hollywood that can’t be replicated now.  Or at least if it is, it is not very often.

I dedicated the Black and White movie day to Hunny.  It’s A Wonderful Life is his all time favorite movie, and I bought it for him as a Christmas present on our first Christmas as a married couple.  Hunny wanted me to point out that despite not growing up together, our relationship is very similar to George and Mary’s.  It is evident that they love each other.  I tear up every time I watch George tell Mary that he doesn’t want to marry anyone and he wants to do what he wants to do (then they are married in the next scene).  Hunny had a similar conversation with me a couple weeks before he proposed, “I don’t know if I want to be married, but I know that I don’t want to be married to anyone but you.”   Men.  Am I right?

I have to let you in on a big secret: I don’t like this movie.  I have never cared for this movie.  Until I met Hunny, I was always able to avoid watching it during the holiday season.  Every Christmas this movie is shown on one channel or another in America.  It wasn’t a tradition to watch it every year for my family, so as long as I steered clear of the channel it was being shown on, I was home free.  Since giving this movie to Hunny, we’ve watched it at least five times.  We’ve only been married 2 1/2 years!  We have only spent two Christmases together married!  Can I just say that I love my husband?

This movie was a disappointment at the box office and ignored at the Academy Awards.  I have a theory about it.  This movie is two hours and ten minutes long.  At the one hour mark, we are still watching the main character’s life unfold, but we haven’t gotten to the point of the story.  The whole point of the story is that an angel needs to go to earth to save George Bailey’s life.  We should know why his life is in jeopardy well before the one hour mark.  Blake Snyder agrees.  In his book, Save the Cat!, he devotes a chapter on “The Immutable Laws of Screenplay Physics.”  One of the laws is that audiences can only stand so much “pipe,” which means people can only sit so long to get to the point of the story.  An hour plus is a really long time for me.

Just because I do not care for this movie does not mean it isn’t a good movie.  The acting in it is phenomenal.  Did you know that when George’s Uncle Billy walks away drunk, a production assistant dropped some equipment off camera, which led the actor to yell, “I’m ok!”?  That take was used by Frank Capra in the film.  It’s A Wonderful Life has a great message.  Playing George Bailey was Jimmy Stewart’s favorite role.  It’s A Wonderful Life was Frank Capra’s favorite of the films he made.  Not to mention, people watch it as a Christmas tradition every year!  That is really something special.

Do you watch It’s A Wonderful Life during Christmas or as part of your Christmas celebration?  Or do you feel that it is too depressing and too much of a downer to watch as part of your Christmas tradition?

Favorite Line: “George Bailey, I’ll love you till the day I die.”

Favorite Character: Mary Bailey

Favorite Scene: When George and Mary unknowingly dance into a swimming pool

2 thoughts on “30 Days, 30 Movies {Day 4} Black and White or (It’s A Wonderful Life)

Leave a Reply

