30 Days, 30 Movies {Day 3} Totally 80’s or (Back to the Future)

Although I was born during the 80’s, there aren’t many 80’s movies I’m into.  I haven’t seen Pretty in Pink and I was forced to watch The Breakfast Club in my freshman English class in college.  I honestly can’t think of any movies that I really loved that were from that time (besides Back to the Future) other than Indiana Jones.  I actually loved Indiana Jones so much that I wanted to become an archeologist when I was nine, but that’s another story.

Hunny and I borrowed my brother’s copy of the trilogy that came out before the 25th Anniversary edition.  I learned from watching the extras that the idea for this story came to Bob Gale when he was looking at his father’s high school yearbook.  His father was popular, on the chess team, and involved in academics.  He wondered if he would have been friends with his father if they went to high school together.  He took this spark for a story and turned it into an Oscar nominated screenplay that was co-written by Robert Zemeckis.  I feel that proves that there are interesting story ideas everywhere.  You just have to look for them.  And when you find one that really excites you, work on it!  Stick with it!

Since this film is well known, and I don’t really have to talk about how great the story is, I thought I’d share some trivia with you:

  • Writers Bob Gale and Robert Zemeckis actually received a fan letter from John DeLorean after the film’s release, thanking them for using his car in the movie
  • After the film’s release, body kits were made for DeLoreans to make them look like the time machine
  • In the original script, Doc Brown and Marty sell bootleg videos in order to fund the time machine
  • Ranked #10 on the American Film Institute’s list of the 10 greatest films in the genre “Sci-Fi” in June 2008
  • Though the film Marty won the Academy Award for Best Picture in 1955, Robert Zemeckis and Bob Gale say in the DVD QandA session that they were not aware of this fact when they named their main character Marty. Both films also have a diner owner name Lou
  • During Doc’s demo of the time machine, just before he is about to leave for the future, he tells Marty “I’ll get to see who wins the next twenty-five World Series.” At the time the scene was written and shot, no one was thinking there would be a sequel, let alone one where the hook of Part II would be Marty wanting to get a hold of a “sports almanac” so he could bet on games
  • According to Bob Gale, in one of the early drafts of the script, Marty’s original last name was McDermott, but it was thought to have too many syllables. It was Robert Zemeckis who then came up with naming him McFly

Favorite Line: It cracks me up every time Marty uses the word, “Heavy”

Favorite Character: Marty McFly

Favorite Scene: When George McFly punches Biff in the face and saves Lorraine

2 thoughts on “30 Days, 30 Movies {Day 3} Totally 80’s or (Back to the Future)

  1. Pingback: Old Movie (Old is a Relative Term) | Polite and (paranoid)

  2. Pingback: 30 Days, 30 Movies {Day 13} Time Travel – About Time | Polite and (paranoid)

Leave a Reply

