Thirsty Thursday: Christmas in July!

Yes, I know it’s not Thursday, but I didn’t want to wait!  TODAY is July 25th, which makes this post highly appropriate.  Not to mention, Hunny and I are taking a much needed weekend getaway, so there might not be a post on Thursday.

December is a busy month for most Americans who celebrate Christmas.  For my family, the holiday season (I’m including November) has five birthdays, three wedding anniversaries, and a couple weddings going down this year.  And you thought your December was crazy!  I never feel like we get to enjoy Christmas as much as we should, so this year I did something a little different.

A couple years ago, I bought Christmas cards on clearance from Hallmark.  They were just hanging out in a drawer (isn’t that sad?).  I picked out the box that featured snowflakes and mentioned miracles on the cards and went to work thinking of family and friends I wanted to send Christmas cheer to and those who I know needed some encouragement.  I mailed them out this morning, so they’ll have “July 25th” stamped on them even if they get to their destinations after July (one is going overseas and several are going out of state).

The card reads "Hundreds of miracles and no two the same"

There are two quotes that I put in the cards.  One is from Albert Einstein:

There are only two ways to live your life.  One is as though nothing is a miracle.  The other is as though everything is a miracle.

The other quote is Jesus speaking from the New Testament in the Bible:

Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you.  Not as the world gives do I give to you.  Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid.  John 14:27

It’s easy to get all wrapped up in yourself and what you are doing, forgetting to look at what the Lord has done for you or what you can give to others.  It’s especially easy to forget that Christmas is a celebration centered on Jesus.  I am making an effort today to meditate on what God has done for me and that Jesus gives us peace, and He gives to us freely and generously.  I pray I can give of myself like that.

I had planned on making cookies for my neighbors as part of the 100th Day of Kindness celebration, but I ran out of time.  Today is the perfect day to give my neighbors peanut butter blossoms.  I only make them at Christmas time, so they are seasonal to me.

This afternoon I’m going to sing Christmas songs with Cupcake, and maybe Hunny will read the story of Jesus’ birth in the Bible to us (Matthew 1:17-25, Luke 2, John 1:1-18).

I hope this post encourages you to celebrate the Christmas spirit today and any day that you want to enjoy your family and friends and the Reason for the season – Jesus, God’s gift to us.

Leave a Reply

