Thirsty Thursday: Back to Basics

Every morning I read the Baby Bible to Cupcake.  Except this morning.  This morning was kind of hectic, and I couldn’t find the Baby Bible, so I thought that I’d recite some scripture to her for us to discuss and think about.

Psalm 23 is kinda long for an 18 month old’s attention span, and, quite frankly, I no longer have it memorized.  So instead I quoted the first verse I learned as a child.  The most over used, under appreciated, and largely ignored verse in the New Testament… John 3:16.

For God so loved the world, that He gave His only begotten Son that whosoever believeth in Him should not perish, but have everlasting life. John 3:16, KJV

Yes, I memorized the King James Version as a kid.  I also memorized Psalm 23 in KJV… Maybe that’s why I’ve forgotten some of it.

I broke John 3:16 down to Cupcake, and it gave me a renewed respect for this verse.

For God so loved the world…

So many people think that God hates us, when He doesn’t.  He LOVES us.  ALL of us.  He loves the WORLD.  He loves all the people in it, all the animals and plants, and everything else.  He loves us.

..that He gave His only begotten Son…

God gave Jesus to us.  Jesus is a gift to us from God.  He didn’t have to send Jesus to death on a cross to cover our sins.  If He hadn’t, we’d be sacrificing cows, goats, and birds for our various sins (See: Genesis 4:4;7:2-8;8:20Exodus 29:3,10-14,36; Leviticus 4:8,16; Numbers 7:87,88;28:11-31Numbers 19:2; Deuteronomy 21:3).  But He did, so all we have to do is talk directly to God about where we are spiritually and what we are doing.

..that whosoever believes in Him would not perish, but have everlasting life.

Whosoever = Anyone and Everyone.  God does not exclude people from the opportunity to know Him and His Son.  It saddens me to think that Christians are portrayed as people who exclude others from knowing God.  Some of that is the fault of those who do try to exclude others from God, and some of that is my fault for not being a more visible example of God’s love.  God’s love includes everyone.  No one is out of the reach of God’s love.  I’m about to say something that is not popular:  God loves murderers.  God loves rapists.  God even loves me.  God doesn’t approve of our sins, but He loves the people who sin.  Anyone (including me) who sins, can ask God for forgiveness (and I do), believe in Jesus as their Savior (I do), and spend eternity with God (I am looking forward to it!).

Found it!

If you’re interested, you can go here to know more.  If you already know God and would like to read a blog about Biblical things, go here.

Leave a Reply

