I’m beyond sad or (Netflix Slapped Me in the Face)

This could not have come at a worse time.  Or maybe it is the perfect time…

If you read this blog, you know that my current employment status is that of Trophy Wife/Screenwriter and a wageless Mary Poppins.  I feel blessed to have these titles, but these precious honors are without wages.  So when Hunny and I found out last week that the price of our Netflix subscription would rise from $9.99 to $15.98, we were more than a little upset.

For at least five years, I have sung the praises of Netflix.  I have told anyone who would listen that they should join Netflix because it is a great company deserving of their business.  My parents are getting rid of their cable at the end of this month, and I’ve been telling them to get Netflix for years.  They agreed to try it out!  I was so excited.  My parents actually making a decision based on a suggestion I made is unbelievable.

Then, without warning, they up the fees 60%.  Can you image if other companies did that?  What would we do?  Think about that for a second.  What if Verizon Wireless said, “You know what?  We’re going to have a rate increase of 60% and it starts in September”?  Or if the company that provides your electricity raised their rates?  Pandemonium.

Not only that, but didn’t they know that I’m doing 30 Days, 30 Movies?  I need them to be able to watch these movies.  Netflix might be the only place I can watch them.  Netflix has silent era films on DVD.  Not that I’m going to watch Charlie Chaplin (but that would have been a good idea for one of the days… Next time!), but still!  I rely on Netflix to have the movies that Family Video, our neighborhood video rental place, and Red Box doesn’t.  One time, Hunny wanted to rent Talladega Nights at Family Video and they didn’t have it.

Here is an article attempting to explain why Netflix changed their prices:

http://finance.yahoo.com/news/Why-Netflix-Raised-Its-nytimes-3842223211.html?x=0

This isn’t about money or changing policies within a month’s time.  It’s the loss of trust and respect that I held for a company.  Netflix was the only company that I felt deserved my respect and loyalty. I remember watching a news article about Netflix several years ago, and I was so impressed with how they treated their employees and had them exercise so that they would stay healthy.  I know it’s 2011 and you can’t count on companies to do the right thing, but I really thought Netflix was different.  Now I know they aren’t.  It just really saddens me.

Leave a Reply

