Thirsty Thursday: The Kindness Project

Thanks to the WordPress Freshly Pressed page, I read the Year of Kindness blog.  After reading this blog, I knew that I wanted to participate in the 100th Day of Kindness.

I went to the Australian Kindness Movement‘s website to get ideas for things to do all day.  They have a great list of ways to be kind, and they even have ways for parents and young people to be kind.  I smiled at strangers, bought a coffee for someone, and gave a stranger a compliment (that one didn’t go so well, but that’s ok!  I went out of my comfort zone on that one).

The one thing I did that wasn’t on the list involved Hunny.  I had to go to the eye doctor that day, which meant that I wasn’t able to have lunch with him.  I had everything that he would need for lunch ready for him in the fridge.  I left post-it notes all over the kitchen.  One gave detailed instructions on how to make Pizza Toast, and one on the pantry gave him ideas of what to have with it and reminded him one of his favorite things was in the pantry.  One told him I loved him.  One told him that he is awesome.  I wrote how much I missed him on another.  He kept his favorites up, and they are still in the kitchen.

I don’t know if any of my kind actions made a difference.  I know the notes put a smile on Hunny’s face, and that is enough for me.

I think the importance of kindness is overlooked and underrated in our society.  Kindness is largely ignored in the society of social media.  I am going to make a conscious effort to be more kind through my online interactions.

I’m going to leave you with these quotes:

If you have the choice to be right or to be kind, choose kind. ~Wayne Dyer

Whoever pursues righteousness and kindness will find life, righteousness, and honor. Proverbs 21:21

I hope you have a kind filled week and LIFE!

2 thoughts on “Thirsty Thursday: The Kindness Project

  1. What lovely kindnesses! I’m so impressed that you didn’t beat yourself up about the one that didn’t go down so well. It took me a looong time to learn that lesson! And I had such a gorgeous mental image of all the little post-it notes around the kitchen.

    Thankyou for participating so wholeheartedly in the challenge! 🙂

    Cat

Leave a Reply

