Thirsty Thursday: It’s All Good

I feel like God is really working on me to be joyful.  My last Thirsty Thursday post was about Rejoicing Always.  This Thirsty Thursday is about this passage from James:

My brethren, count it all joy when you fall into various trials, knowing that the testing of your faith produces patience. But let patience have its perfect work, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking nothing.  James 1:2-4

I should be full of joy right now.  Hunny and I are going through some trials.  The biggest most specific one being his employment situation.  There are at least three people in an office of eight who are trying to get him in trouble or even fired.  Hunny is a hard worker and he always gives 110%.  Always.  There was a situation involving said co-workers who called the boss on vacation, no less, to get him in trouble.  I asked some friends to pray over the situation, and he did not get in trouble with the boss.

We have been praying for three years for a new job to open up for Hunny.  Three years doesn’t sound like a long time, but it feels like a lifetime (especially since we’ve only been married 2 1/2 years…).  At the end of our life, this is going to be a distant memory, and we’ll laugh about how silly we were to be worried about his job situation.  Five years from now, we are going to laugh about the tiny cramped apartment we lived in downtown Statesvegas and about the creepy guys who would say things to me even in front of Cupcake.  But today it’s a little discouraging.

I know that God has plans for me:

For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the LORD, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.  Jeremiah 29:11

I know Jesus is with us:

..lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age.” Amen.  Matthew 28:20b

And isn’t that all that matters?  My current circumstances are not my entire life.  Even if I were to die in six months, as my experiment suggests, living in Statesvegas with Hunny’s job security non-existant, it would be ok.  When I die, I will see God face to Face and I will be with Him forever.

That is something to be joyful about!

Leave a Reply

