Thirsty Thursday: Rejoice Always

Yesterday, my friend Daniel posted this.  It was his first post in months and I was excited to hear from him.  He gave a scripture passage and the first verse really spoke to me although it has only two words.

Rejoice always 1 Thessalonians 5:16

Let’s break down this short verse by looking at the words that comprise it.

The definition of rejoice is:

feel or show great joy or delight

The first part of the definition for always is:

 at all times; on all occasions : the sun always rises in the east.• throughout a long period of the past : she had always been an obstinate sort.• for all future time; forever : she will always be missed.

As children of God and as followers of His Son Jesus Christ, we are to be at all times and on all occasions feeling or showing great joy.  Joy is defined as a feeling of great pleasure and happiness, and it is one of the fruits of the Spirit (see Galatians 5:22), which means that real joy comes from God.

I am to be in a continual state of joy.  Right now, that is a hard task for me because I have some not so great circumstances surrounding me, but it is not a hard thing to do when God is doing it through me.  In my own strength, I can do nothing.  I am a pitiful person to be around if I am trying to be joyful on my own.  Joy comes from God.  God gives you that joy when you ask Him.  Sometimes life is going great and that joy is easy to feel, but sometimes things are hard and God will give you more joy so that you can be in a continuous state of happiness.

Leave a Reply

