Thirsty Thursday: Reaping What We Sow Or (What Earl Calls Karma)

I know.  My Name is Earl got cancelled years ago.  Hunny and I started watching it after it was cancelled, and we liked it (We like Greg Garcia’s new show Raising Hope much more!).  That doesn’t change the fact that the belief in karma is really big right now.  I’ve even heard Christians refer to karma.  Here’s the thing: Karma isn’t karma.  Karma is another way of using the phrase “reaping what you sow.”  Sowing and reaping is a Biblical principle.

Do not be deceived: God is not mocked, for whatever one sows, that will he also reap. Galatians 6:7

You can call it whatever you want, but the principle remains the same.  If you do nice things, nice things come back to you.  If you do mean things, mean things will come back to you.  I have an example from my life for you.

Have you heard of Aldi?  It’s a German based grocery store where you can buy food cheaper than other grocery stores, and since my current position of Trophy Wife doesn’t exactly pay, we try to be good stewards of the money we have by living simply.  Aldi is able to provide food at lower costs because they have low over head costs.  You “rent” shopping carts for a quarter, you bag your own groceries, and they sell reusable bags that you can put your groceries in.

We’ve been shopping there for some time now.  We bring our own bags from home, so bagging groceries isn’t a problem.  When Hunny puts the cart back, if there is someone who wants a cart, he gives them our cart without taking their quarter.  An older man did it for us once, and Hunny has been giving carts ever since.  Even though it is only a quarter, it’s the simple act of doing something nice for someone else and being kind.

One time we were leaving, and I noticed an elderly hispanic lady with her grandson putting groceries in her car.  She didn’t have any bags.  We still had a bunch left over from this shopping trip and I had the urge to give them to her.  “What if she thinks I’m a weirdo?  What if she doesn’t take the bags?  Maybe she doesn’t want bags,” I thought.  I am a naturally shy person and I battle with the fear of rejection.  But I pushed those thoughts and my pride aside and offered her the plastic bags we had.  She accepted them!  And she was very gracious about it, too.

The last time we went to Aldi there was a young couple with a little baby, probably five months old.  We had Cupcake with us, who points at every and any kid she sees (Her mother needs to teach her some manners!  I guess manners are hard to learn when you’re less than 1 1/2…).  I said that was a cute baby and we kept seeing each other in the store.  They checked out two or three people in front of us.  As we were bagging our groceries with our plastic bags, the young guy gave Hunny a big canvas Aldi bag.  It was so nice!  I was blown away.  Then I remembered all the times Hunny gave carts to people and declined to take their quarters.  I smiled to myself knowing that all the good we do comes back to us.

The other side of that is the bad we do.  I wish I could say that I didn’t have bad days and do bad things to others.  I wish.  But I ask God for forgiveness and I pray that God continues to use me to share His love and do good to others.

Is there a small nice gesture you have on your heart to do for someone else?  God wants to use you to do that gesture, and He wants a nice gesture to come back to you.

One thought on “Thirsty Thursday: Reaping What We Sow Or (What Earl Calls Karma)

  1. Pingback: Thirsty Thursday: Pink Roses | Polite and (paranoid)

Leave a Reply

