Wii Would Like to Play or (An Unlikely Praise Report)

My heart broke last week.  According to my paranoid brain, my love and constant attention killed our Wii.

We live in what looks like an abandoned building, but in reality is apartments, in downtown Statesvegas (I know.  It sounds cool, but believe me, it is NOT).  This past winter has been a rough one for our area, and we have had short power outages.  The electricity will be off and right back on, or off for a while and back on.  Thankfully, it has never been off for a day or more.  I experienced an on/off power situation Tuesday.  The TV turned right back on.  I pushed the on button on the Wii… Nothing.  No light.  Nothing.  So I checked the power strip.  It worked fine.  Then I unplugged and plugged everything back into the power strip.  The Wii did not respond.

My hunny and I don’t have cable.  We don’t have a box to get regular television.  We have Netflix (the  eighth wonder of the world), and we watch it on our Wii.  We have a DVD player, but we don’t use it very often.  Being able to watch The Cosby Show instantly on the TV through the Wii is invaluable to me.   Rediscovering Third Rock From the Sun has been a blast.  Hunny didn’t watch the show when it was on.  We have had our Wii for three years.  I can’t imagine life without it.

In my desperation, I may have said a prayer and asked God to fix the Wii.  I don’t know.  I was really freaked out at the time, and I have no idea what I did.  I honestly was wondering how long it would take us to save up the money to buy a new one.  Hunny tried a few things and my broseph-in-law tried a few things, but nothing worked.  Hunny prayed with me about the Wii.  I didn’t expect God to fix it.  I did pray that God would give me peace and that I would stop worrying about it.

God answers prayer.  I did not think that He would answer this one the way He did.  A friend of mine told me  her Wii broke and she sent it off to Nintendo.  They fixed it for around $75 to $95, which is a lot cheaper than a new Wii.  I went on the website to find out how to send it back.  There were troubleshooting things to do before you called, so we tried them.  Resetting our power cord worked!  Our Wii was back in business!  I am sharing this with you to say this:  God cares about your “little,” “stupid” problems.  Whatever is on your mind, He wants to help you.  He wants to show you that you are important to Him, and if your Wii breaking upsets you, He wants to help you fix it.

Cast all your anxiety on Him because He cares for you. 1 Peter 5:7

Leave a Reply

