Thirsty Thursday: God’s Provision

As Hunny and I are reading through the Bible, God is revealing small things to me.  The small thing that He showed me today that means so much to me is that He provides for us.  During lunch we read chapter 14 in Leviticus.  It mainly focuses on the laws for cleansing lepers.  It lists what a person is to bring the priests for a guilt, sin, and burnt offering.  Verses 21 and 22 say:

But if he is poor and cannot afford so much, then he shall take one male lamb for a guilt offering to be waved, to make atonement for him, and a tenth of an ephah of fine flour mixed with oil for a grain offering, and a log of oil; also two turtledoves or two pigeons, whichever he can afford.  The one shall be a sin offering and the other a burnt offering.

God knew that there would be some people who could not afford the offering, so He provided a way for them.  That really touches me as someone who is not financially set.  Hunny’s employment is our sole source of income as of now (We’re both writers and he’s a painter, and we both hope to sell our work).  Since we’ve both been sick, some of his paychecks have been smaller.  Thankfully, his job offers sick pay, but it’s only 60% of his hourly wage.  Nevertheless, we’ve been able to pay our bills and stay fed even though our electric bills have doubled due to the freezing winter we’ve had.  God provides.  Anything.  Always.  He has you in mind, and He will make a way for you.

One thought on “Thirsty Thursday: God’s Provision

  1. Nice thoughts. I keep forgetting to tell people that I found their blog through my tag surfer but that’s how I found yours.
    Anyway, I’m so glad we don’t have to live by the Law of Moses and make sacrifices.
    I noticed you said you have been sick. I feel for you-I have Endometriosis and sometimes I feel bad and have to stay in bed for a day or two. My husband has health problems, too, sometimes.
    Your post reminds me of the Sermon on the Mount-where Jesus talks about worry and how God takes care of us-something like, “If He feeds the birds, so much more will He care for you.”

Leave a Reply

