Thirsty Thursday: Thinking Rocks!!

I am a third generation worrier (maybe even more.  All I know is that my mother is and grandmothers were serious worriers).  God has freed me from most of my worrying, but I have my moments.  Especially when I watch creepy things like Dateline where families get massacred.  When I am overly tired, I’m susceptible to worrying.  Working out our personal budget is a hot bed for worrying.  Jesus said something that I remember when I start to give in to worrying:

Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself.  Each day has enough trouble of its own. Matthew 6:34

He also said:

“..Do not worry about your life… Which of you by worrying can add one cubit to his stature?  If you then are not able to do the least, why are you anxious for the rest?  Luke 12:22b, 25, 26  (Read the whole passage here Luke 12:22-31)

Worrying does nothing for us.  It keeps us from being productive and it imprisons us.  God even gave us a guideline to keep us from worry.

Finally, brothers, whatever is TRUE, whatever is HONORABLE, whatever is JUST, whatever is PURE, whatever is LOVELY, whatever is COMMENDABLE, if there is any EXCELLENCE, if there is anything WORTHY OF PRAISE, think about THESE THINGS.  Philippians 4:8 (emphasis mine)

When we THINK about good things, positive things, the things listed above, we are unable to worry.  How can you worry when you are thinking about something lovely or commendable?  I pray you live worry free!  God bless!

Leave a Reply

