yes, even I will be 30 eventually

My plan/goal was to do a post every Monday.  It’s Friday, and I haven’t posted in a while.  It’s a total cop out to say that I’ve been busy, but I’ve been busy.  My life is pretty hectic, and I know that I am not the only one with a hectic life or the desire to be creative that gets squelched pretty easily by the drudgery of daily living…  Moving on.

I’m tired of all these women, seemingly afraid to turn 30, going on a blog quest.  I will be 30 eventually.  What’s wrong with 30?  I blame Julie.  If it weren’t for her super popular blog, book, and movie starring adorable Amy Adams and amazing Meryl Streep; ladies would not be making a dress a day or going on a billion dates.  Even one of my friends has a list of books she wants to read before she turns thirty.

First of all, I don’t begrudge these wonderful women of coming up with a creative thing to do and blog about.  Making a list of things you want to accomplish is smart.  As the saying goes, “If you don’t have a plan, you plan to fail.”  Going a step further, Proverbs 29:18a says “Where there is no vision, the people perish.”  But what does turning thirty have to do with it?  I haven’t done much research on it, so please let me know if there are any, but I don’t know of many men who are doing something before they turn 30.

Second of all, these ladies are making me look bad.  As a creative person, I feel like people look at me like, “Hey, you’re going to be thirty.  What are you going to do for it?”  Um, celebrate?  I like to bake, but I’m not going to bake 365 pies the year before I turn thirty.  I like to sing, but I’m not put up 365 videos of me singing karaoke the year before the big 3 – 0.  I get enough pressure from my mother to “do something” to drive the most sane and self-confident person insane without having strangers make me feel bad.

From what I’ve heard, your 30’s are great!  You don’t worry as much about what other people think about you and become more comfortable in adulthood.  Some people get in the swing of their careers or new families or start a family.  One of my personal New Year resolutions was to enjoy the moment. I’m still working on it.  For the times when I’m thinking about the future, it’s good to know that it will just get better and better whether or not I turn thirty.

Leave a Reply

