September Sucks

*DISCLAIMER*

Your birthday does not count as a reason September sucks.  Your birthday is a very special day.  The day God brought you into this world and into your family is both a miracle and a blessing.  It has nothing to do with this post.

September 11, 2001 – The campus was uncomfortably quiet.  The normal throngs moving in every direction were absent.  There were only ten other people walking on the quad as I returned to my room from class.  When I got to my room, my roommate was watching TV.  She said classes were cancelled.  I saw the smoking sky on the screen.  Life would never be the same.

September 15, 2005 – Getting a call from my father late at night is not normal.  He hardly ever calls and never late at night.  My uncle was dying.  They didn’t know how much longer he had.  In my lifetime, I had seen him maybe five times, but God had been bringing him to mind for several months now.  I prayed for him and was distraught at the thought of his death and how his daughters would handle losing their father.  A few days later, he went to be with the Lord.  I wasn’t able to attend the funeral and I wasn’t able to get in touch with my cousins.

September 28, 2007 – “You have to help me.  They’re trying to kill me!”  That was the last thing my great-uncle said to his brother, my grandfather.  The next day he was dead.  Maybe my great-uncle heard his second wife and her family conspiring.  Maybe he heard his healthcare providers say that he didn’t have much longer to live and they should ease his pain.  Who knows.  The next week his daughter was laid off.

September 4, 2009 – My father’s calling is more frequent these days, but when he said my grandfather left a message on the answering machine, I knew something was wrong.  My grandfather never calls.  Ever.  He hates answering machines.  Hates them.  When my father called back confirming that not only something was wrong, but my Nana had passed away, I was stunned.  I looked out the window to see the flag outside my building was at half mast.  I collapsed in tears on my bed.  I wasn’t able to go to her funeral, and she died suddenly so I didn’t get a chance to say goodbye.  My only consolation is that I was the only grandchild who sent her a Mother’s Day card.  She knew I loved her and that should be good enough for me.  Somehow it isn’t…

September 12, 2010 – I want to talk to my mom about Nana’s passing.  There are some things my mother and I do not discuss and death of family members is one of them.  Brutal killings and kidnappings that turn fatal of strangers are up for grabs.  When dropping me off for pre-college at University, my mother noted that the well-known forest of the school was a place where, “..if someone dropped your body off in there, they would never find it.”  Yeah.  But talking about her mother’s passing is off-limits.  I miss Nana.  I miss my grandmother who passed in November of last year.  Thankfully, I have my hunny and a small group of close friends who want to listen to me, but there are times when you want to talk to your mother.

September is a tough month for my family.  Once September is over, the holidays approach, and that is always a joyous time for us.  We celebrate our family and the birth of our Saviour, Jesus Christ.  It is a blessed time!  September is the darkest before the dawn, and this year, I am looking forward to the dawn with more anticipation than ever.

Leave a Reply

